Attorney Brandan J. Davies


Brandan Davies May 28, 2024

Kansas weapon laws pertain to guns and other legal weaponry. The state has some of the most relaxed restrictions in the nation, with many of the allowances being things that would cause arrest in other states.

Kansas' Open Carry Rule

Kansas is an “open carry” state. This means that anyone can legally carry any legal weapon in the open and without permits being required. Firearms may be openly carried in cars without any license except where localities have made open carry illegal; however, concealed handgun permits accepted by KS make the holder exempt from all local open carry bans.

Kansas state law permits you to carry a loaded handgun or revolver on a belt holster. You can do this in public places without special permits. But you cannot unholster the weapon without good reason. You also cannot walk around with the weapon in your hand. The gun must remain in a legitimate holster or case, with both the weapon and the holster being openly visible. The holster or case does not have to have a lock. 

State Preemption:  Municipalities in Kansas have the right to regulate the open carry of firearms in their municipality.  Check local ordinances for further restrictions.

Concealed Carry in Kansas

Called CCWs, concealed carry weapon permits enable you to carry a concealed weapon. Concealed carry used to be illegal without a permit. But that law has changed, enabling people in Kansas to carry a concealed weapon without needing a permit.

But you can still get a CCW permit to allow you to carry a concealed weapon in other states. CCW permits can be useful if one travels outside of the state and wants to have reciprocity with other states so they can legally carry their firearm outside of the borders of Kansas.

You can gain a CCW permit if you meet these criteria:

  • At least 21 years old or 19 years old with proof of military service or honorable discharge

  • Free of any felony convictions, or having a felony conviction that is expunged or with right to possess firearms restored

  • In the U.S. legally as an Kansas resident or U.S. citizen

  • Not suffering any mental illness or deemed mentally incompetent

  • Passed an approved firearm safety class or meet requirements from the list below:

    • Any firearm safety course offered to the public, such as junior college courses

    • NRA firearm safety or training

    • Kansas-approved hunter safety course

    • Government firearms safety course

    • Another state’s valid or expired firearm permit

    • Hold proof of current military service or honorable discharge

Exceptions to Concealed Carry in Kansas

There are still places you cannot carry a concealed weapon in Kansas, even with a CCW permit. These include:

  • Posted private property prohibiting carry

  • Court houses

  • other government buildings

You cannot drink alcohol while carrying your weapon.

You do not have to disclose your concealed carry weapon to anyone, even police unless you are directly asked. But you should use common sense and alert the officer to your weapon to prevent misunderstanding.

Does Kansas Recognize Your Permit from Another State?

Kansas likely will recognize your permit from your own state, if you are temporarily visiting the state. That is, unless you are from one of the states that does not recognize Kansas' permit. New residents in the state must reapply.

Will My Kansas Permit Be Recognized Anywhere Else?

Kansas CCW permit is recognized in 36 other U.S. states. This means you can carry your concealed weapon within those states on a temporary visitor basis. But other state laws differ from Kansas' laws, so you need to familiarize yourself with that state’s requirements. You can be held accountable for severe fines or even a jail sentence in that state, if you do not adhere to their state laws.

Here is a list of States that recognize Kansas permits. 

  • Alabama

  • Alaska

  • Arizona

  • Arkansas

  • Colorado

  • Florida

  • Georgia

  • Idaho

  • Delaware

  • Indiana

  • Iowa

  • Kentucky

  • Louisiana

  • Maine

  • Michigan

  • Minnesota

  • Mississippi

  • Missouri

  • Montana

  • Nebraska

  • Nevada

  • New Hampshire

  • New Mexico

  • North Carolina

  • North Dakota

  • Ohio

  • Oklahoma

  • Pennsylvania

  • South Carolina

  • South Dakota

  • Tennessee

  • Texas

  • Utah

  • Vermont

  • Virginia

  • Washington

  • West Virginia

  • Wisconsin

  • Wyoming