There are four ways a DUI can cause you to lose your driver’s license.

  1. You fail to request an administrative hearing

The DC-27 Notice of Suspension of License states you have 14 days to request an administrative hearing. Failure to do this automatically results in your license being suspended.

2. You lose your administrative hearing

If you properly request your administrative hearing but happen to lose the hearing, your license will be suspended.

3. You are found guilty or plead guilty to the DUI in criminal court

If you are found guilty of DUI at trial or plead guilty to the charge, you will lose your license as penalty, even if you previously won your administrative hearing.

4. You fail to appear in court for your DUI charge

Doing this will result in an administrative suspension for failure to comply, i.e. not showing up to court. A warrant will also be out for your arrest.

*On a very rare occasion, you will not lose your license even if you failed to request the administrative hearing. If the Kansas Department of Revenue, upon reviewing the DC-27 form, finds a terminal mistake, they will dismiss the administrative case and you send you back your license. (This is extremely rare)

How long will the DUI suspend your license?

The agency which controls your driver’s license is the Kansas Department of Revenue. If you are charged with a DUI and your license is suspended for any of the first three situations listed above, there is a system in place which determines how long you license suspension will be.

That system involves three pieces of information:If you are first time DUI:If you are second time DUI:If you are third time DUI:If you are fourth time DUI:If you are fifth time DUI:

  1. Number of prior DUIs you have
  2. What your BAC was on the current DUI charge
  3. Whether or not you refused the evidentiary breath test.
  • And you submitted to the breath test and your BAC was between 0.08 and 0.15, your license will be suspended for 30 days followed by a 6 months period of which you will be required to have the ignition interlock installed in your vehicle before you get your license back.
  • And you submitted to the breast and your BAC was 0.15 or higher, your license will be suspended for 1 year followed by a year period of which you will be required to have the ignition interlock installed in your vehicle before you get your license back.
  • And you did not submit to the test, your license will be suspended for 1 year followed by a two-year period of which you will be required to have the ignition interlock installed in your vehicle before you get your license back.
  • And your BAC was between 0.08 and 0.15, your license will be suspended for 1 year followed by a year period of which you will be required to have the ignition interlock installed in your vehicle before you get your license back.
  • And your BAC was 0.15 or higher, your license will be suspended for 1 year followed by a two-year period of which you will be required to have the ignition interlock installed in your vehicle before you get your license back.
  • And you did not submit to the test, your license will be suspended for 1 year followed by a three-year period of which you will be required to have the ignition interlock installed in your vehicle before you get your license back.
  • And your BAC was between 0.08 and 0.15, your license will be suspended for 1 year followed by a two-year period of which you will be required to have the ignition interlock installed in your vehicle before you get your license back.
  • And your BAC was 0.15 or higher, your license will be suspended for 1 year followed by a three-year period of which you will be required to have the ignition interlock installed in your vehicle before you get your license back.
  • And you did not submit to the test, your license will be suspended for 1 year followed by a four-year period of which you will be required to have the ignition interlock installed in your vehicle before you get your license back.
  • And your BAC was between 0.08 and 0.15, your license will be suspended for 1 year followed by a three-year period of which you will be required to have the ignition interlock installed in your vehicle before you get your license back.
  • And your BAC was 0.15 or higher, your license will be suspended for 1 year followed by a four-year period of which you will be required to have the ignition interlock installed in your vehicle before you get your license back.
  • And you did not submit to the test, your license will be suspended for 1 year followed by a five-year period of which you will be required to have the ignition interlock installed in your vehicle before you get your license back.

No matter if you submitted to the test nor how high you BAC was, your license will be suspended for 1 year followed by a ten-year period of which you will be required to have the ignition interlock installed in your vehicle before you get your license back.