Can I Get A Hardship License Or A Restricted License After A DUI?
When it concerns a DUI charge, the vast amount of people fears losing their driver’s license the most. Kansas has strict penalties that are difficult to circumvent, however there is a process that will allow an individual to drive while they are serving their suspension. This is through a restricted license and thus modifies the long suspension. This is how it works:
If an individual submitted to the breath test, regardless of their BAC, Kansas will allow them to apply for a restricted license after 45 days of suspension as long as they install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle.
If the individual refused the breath test, Kansas will allow them to apply for a restricted license after 90 days of suspension as long as they install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle.
How can you get your ability to drive back as quickly as possible?
- Serve the mandatory suspension period: If your license is suspended you have to wait the requisite period of time before applying for the restricted license. (45 days for breath test failure, 90 days for a breath test refusal)
- Complete a DC-1015 Form. (Kansas Application to Modify Driver’s License Suspension)
- Install an ignition interlock device in your car
- Take the ignition interlock device installation paperwork along with the DC-1015 form to the local DMV. Your driving privileges will be reinstated that day. Johnson cCountyhas two locations.
- Mission Driver’s License Office 6507 Johnson Drive, Mission, KS 66202
- Olathe Driver’s License Office 13507 S. Mur-Len Rd. #137, Olathe, KS 66062
Get your questions answered - call for a free,
20-minute phone consultation (913) 451-9500.